week 14 – feedback and my next move

I presented my book this week, and the semester has almost come to an end. I am happy with the turnout of my book. Feedback that I gathered from my presentation was that I need to consider all of my strategies and either combine or develop certain ones more. I will have time over the break to consider all of these ideas and really think them through. Other feedback I got was about ensuring that my proposal is POSITIVE. I agree, I don’t want my research about gentrification and personal views make me bitter towards the new affluence of Newtown. As I said in my book, If Newtown wants to stay a socially inclusive place then it will have to accept its newer residents. Gentrification is going to happen, I don’t think it would be worth the energy in trying stop it. A project that acknowledges these changes and moulds them into something positive is a much better idea. I like the idea of something of a BANG going off in newtown, not just little pokey ideas here and there that have been proposed by the council but something that causes a stir.

So far all of the tutors have given me positive feedback on the map models I did exploring ambiguity. Using a map of Newtown I made iterations changing the terrain, cutting out buildings, playing with the heights, the connections between roads and structures, taking out king street to start thinking of major ways Newtown could become more ambiguous. These might form an approach for me in the context of an interior space or could work with my idea for a spatial intervention. For example What IF there was suddenly a huge blockade accross King street that threw the whole place into chaos?



I think I should keep exploring these strategies during the break. Ive been reminiscing on the foreword to the Naja and DeOstos Ambiguous architecture book

“Over the past few decades architecture as an idea and practice has increasingly limited its definition of itself. […] the reality is that architectural styles and forms are often the seductive packaging and repackaging of the same proven, marketable concepts […] beneath the cloak of radicalism the conventions of existing building typologies and programs, with all their comforting familiarity, still rule – and sell. What is needed desperately today are approaches to architecture that can free its potential to transform our ways of thinking, and acting.”

If this really is the project where we get to dream big and not have to worry about the reality of clients, budgets and business  then whats to stop me from proposing something radical? How can design really transform our ways of thinking and acting?


[1] jackowski N, De Ostos R, Ambiguous Spaces, Pamphlet Architecture no. 29, Princton Architectural Press, New York. 2008

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

